Google Wave until now

So, I’ve been using google wave for…. um I don’t remember exactly,… lets see um, the first wave was the welcome one at 28 of October, um, that gives me roughly one month I suppose. I watched the Google Wave Developer Preview at Google I/O 2009 on youtube and really found out some neat stuff :). But firstly, the video (yes I know its one hour):

So after this I went on checking the gadgets, and found this useful page with everything in it. Here are the best I picked.

  • BotURL, it replaces a link with a shorter url, showing the page you are heading to.
  • Emoticony, replaces text representations of emoticons to emoticons :).
  • Tweety, you can tweet in twitter and also shows you the tweets of your friends there. The link is broken, here is the address tweety-wave@appspot.com.
  • linky, adds live to a url that you type, a link. The address is linky@appspot.com.
  • picsinwave, replaces urls of images with the image itself. However if you have other bots edit the url it may not work. The link is broken either so here is the address picsinwave@appspot.com.
  • spelly, underlines with red what it doesn’t understand, and shows you a pop up so that you can correct the word. The address is spelly@appspot.com.

In short google wave is a wonderful tool. I replaced instant messaging tool with all my friends that are in. It works pretty well as an instant messenger, and can make the conversation easier by talking with someone, showing videos without leaving the page, uploading photos, writing at where you want to answer, and surely there are a lot more to come.

What got my interest though are games, as always. Here is the xml for the chess, just click on the Add Gadget by URL button and put it there to play. Seems rather easy implementing games in google wave. This one is with xml, others are in java, and I’m waiting even more. As said Google Wave is a collaborative tool fixed in a browser, so we are simply letting the web evolve. I’m just curious of what game I could develop…

Posted on 6 December, 2009, in Wave. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

